Reflection on Schemata and the “curse of knowledge” on how it has impacted my style of teaching

After reading about Piaget’s thoughts on how our mind works: schemas and Colin Camerer, George Lowenstein and Martin Webbers the “curse of knowledge” it made me think about what it is I do in my life, how I perceive things and how I pass on my knowledge and skills to others. I currently work with Autistic children, I know how to plan, implement and get the results from the children but when I am put into the situation of working with Neuro-typical developing children the skills I know and work really well are no longer applicable. I then have to change my way of thinking, learning to think outside the square and to change my ways, which is not always easy as I am set in my ways. This is where the “curse of knowledge” impacts my way of thinking. Change is scary and that you stick with what you know and what is more comfortable and to see it from another person’s point of view is sometimes difficult, which results in me becoming flustered. Once given the time to process the new knowledge I then am able to adjust my ways of thinking.

Leave a Reply

